[video] Afro-Peruvian Fest: June 26 & 27 // Youtube & Facebook

See amazing video from last weekend!

  • please advance to 3rd minute for the show.

 

About video:

Seminario de Música Afroperuana
June 26 and June 27th, 2021
Price: Free.

Hosted by Afro-Peruvian Fest.
How to watch: Youtube.

Afro-Peruvian Fest is back in June! This year we will have workshops and concerts online completely free to enjoy Afro-Peruvian culture month together. Spread word!

¡En junio vuelve Afro-Peruvian Fest! Este año tendremos talleres y conciertos online completamente gratuitos para disfrutar juntos del mes de la Cultura Afroperuana. Pasen la voz!

 

Schedule:

 

This year Afro-Peruvian Fest will take place June 26 & 27. We’ll have FREE classes and concerts to enjoy together Afro-Peruvian Culture month.

 

Saturday June 26:

ONLINE CLASSES
10am PST | 12pm Peru
• Festejo family dance class – Instructor: Nadia Calmet
11am PST | 1pm Peru
• Zapateo family dance class – Instructor: Pierr Padilla
These Online classes will take place through Zoom. To register email: afroperuvian.fest@gmail.com

ONLINE CONCERT
6pm PST | 8pm Peru
• Huarango & Cunamacué
This concert will be a livestream via Afro-Peruvian Fest’s Facebook Live and YouTube Channel.

 

 

Sunday June 27:

IN PERSON CLASSES
10am PST | 12pm Peru
• Festejo family dance class – Instructor: Carmen Roman
11am PST | 1pm Peru
• Afro-Peruvian Drum Circle – Instructor: Pierr Padilla
These free classes will take place outdoors at Redwood Heights Recreation Center in Oakland.

ONLINE CONCERT
6pm PST | 8pm Peru
• Herencia Afroperuana (Afro-Peruvian Heritage)
Artists: Braulio Barrera, Juan Medrano Cotito, Pedro Rosales, Pierr Padilla, Ayla Davila y José Roberto Hernandez.
This concert will be a livestream via Afro-Peruvian Fest’s Facebook Live and YouTube channel.

 

See past videos here!

 

For more information email: afroperuvian.fest@gmail.com
Producer: Pierr Padilla
Sound Engineer: Greg Landau
Graphic Designer: Ivan Vilca
Collaborators: Carmen Roman, Luis Antonio Abello, Thomas Turner, Patricia García, Hatuey Hernandez, Verónica Vásquez, Olga Blanco y Luis Rodríguez Pastor.

This project is brought to you in part with support by Alliance for California Traditional Arts, in collaboration with the Walter and Elise Haas Fund, William & Flora Hewlett Foundation, Grants for the Arts y The California Endowment.
We appreciate your support in sharing this event to be able to reach a wider audience.